News Releases

Dr. Lia Merminga appointed Director of Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory

April 5, 2022 Lia Merminga, an internationally renowned physicist and scientific leader, has been appointed to lead Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory, effective April 18, 2022. Dr. Merminga will... Read More

FRA Announces Nigel Lockyer to step down as Fermilab director

  Nigel Lockyer to step down as Fermilab director The Fermi Research Alliance, a partnership of the University of Chicago and Universities Research Association that manages the Fermi National... Read More

URA Names John C. Mester Executive Director & Chief Executive Officer

August 10, 2021  Universities Research Association, Inc. (URA), a consortium of more than 90 leading research universities responsible for the management and operation of research facilities in the... Read More

Zhicai Zhang wins 2021 URA Thesis Award

August 5, 2021 | Mary Magnuson With both an engineering and particle physics background, Zhicai Zhang digs through data from CERN’s Large Hadron Collider while also working on upgrades for the... Read More

Pedro Machado wins 2021 URA Early Career Award

August 9, 2021 | Mary Magnuson The U.S. Department of Energy’s Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory is a global leader in neutrino science, with cutting-edge experiments on the horizon like the... Read More

URA Council of Presidents Elects New Leadership

  At its February 11, 2021 Annual Meeting and Policy Forum, the URA Council of Presidents welcomed Dr. Gary S. May, Chancellor of the University of California, Davis, as its 2022 Chair.  An... Read More

David Schultz Appointed Director URA Sandia Site Office

Universities Research Association (URA) welcomes David R. Schultz as the new director of the URA Sandia Site Office (USSO) at Sandia National Laboratories in Albuquerque, New Mexico, and a member of... Read More

Javier Tiffenberg wins 2020 URA Early Career Award

August 12, 2020 | Allen Zeyher Javier Tiffenberg The tiniest of kicks forms the subject of the latest Universities Research Association Early Career Award. The kick is the recoil of an electron from... Read More

Adi Ashkenazi wins 2020 URA Tollestrup Award

August 11, 2020 | Steve Koppes Adi Ashkenazi Postdoctoral scientist Adi Ashkenazi of the Massachusetts Institute of Technology has earned the Universities Research Association 2020 Tollestrup Award... Read More

David Sweigart wins 2020 URA Thesis Award

August 10, 2020 | Zack Savitsky David Sweigart Drawn to physics by his desire to understand how things work, postdoctoral researcher David Sweigart of Cornell University now helps test the most... Read More