Press Releases

URA Council of Presidents Elects New Leadership Washington, DC

FEBRUARY 13, 2020

At its February 4, 2020 Annual Meeting and Policy Forum the URA
Council of Presidents welcomed Dr. Wendy Wintersteen as its 2020 Chair.
Dr. Wintersteen, a respected entomologist, is President of Iowa State University and the first woman to hold that position at Iowa State. In her capacity as Council Chair, she will conclude her tenure as Chair by presiding at the 2021 Council of Presidents meeting.

The Council also elected Dr. Gary S. May, Chancellor of the University of California, Davis, as its 2020 Vice Chair. Dr. May is a dynamic leader and an accomplished scholar and engineer who has led the University of California system’s most comprehensive campus since 2017. Prior to his tenure at UC Davis, Dr. May was the dean of the College of Engineering at the Georgia Institute of Technology. He will succeed Dr. Wintersteen in 2021 as Chair of the URA Council of Presidents.

Washington, DC – February 4, 2020

In addition, the URA Council of Presidents elected four new members to the URA Board of Trustees.

Dr. Barry Barish, Nobel Laureate in Physics, is the Emeritus Ronald and Maxine Linde Professor of Physics at the California Institute of Technology, and Distinguished Professor of Physics and Astronomy, University of California, Riverside. Dr. Barish, who served as Principal Investigator and Director of LIGO, was awarded the 2017 Nobel Prize in Physics “for decisive contributions to the LIGO detector and the observation of gravitational waves.” A recipient of numerous awards, he earlier headed the design team of the Superconducting Super Collider, and served as the Director of the Global Design Effort for the International Linear Collider.

Dr. Harris Pastides, Distinguished President Emeritus, University of South Carolina, is a former Executive Chair of the URA Board of Trustees. He served as the University of South Carolina’s 28th president and led the flagship campus of the system of eight institutions, serving over 50,000 students. Before assuming the presidency of the University he served as the dean of the university’s Arnold School of Public Health.

Dr. Robert Robbins, an internationally recognized cardiac surgeon, assumed his position as the 22nd president of the University of Arizona on June 1, 2017. Previously, he served as president and CEO of the Texas Medical Center in Houston from 2012 to 2017. He was chair of the Department of Cardiothoracic Surgery at Stanford University and served at the helm of numerous national and international organizations devoted to cardiovascular health and treatment, including the International Society of Heart and Lung Transplantation and the American Heart Association, Western States.

Dr. Timothy Sands is the 16th president of Virginia Polytechnic Institute and State University, joining the university in June of 2014, when he was charged with establishing a new Innovation Campus in Northern Virginia. Before coming to Virginia Tech, he was Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, Provost, and Acting President of Purdue University. With previous appointments at the University of California, Berkeley and Bell Communications Research, he directed Purdue’s Birck Nanotechnology Center.